Posted by: glitterseason | June 30, 2012

nearing the end of CBT

I have now had 29 sessions of CBT (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy). We spent the first 10 or so sessions focusing on my hair pulling, working out triggers and talking about other coping mechanisms I could use to manage stress and self sooth. However it became evident during my sessions that my dissociation was high and was keeping me from connecting with emotions. It was decided we would work on this for a sizeable chunk of time. This was really helpful and brought down my dissociation. (We rated it each week out of 10). This enabled me to work on my emotions and to begin to feel them…something I have not done for a very long time.

I am still pulling but I am more aware of my pulling in that is less subconscious and I am able at times to stop myself. I am still aiming to be pull free.

I would say to anyone experiencing Trichotillomania to go and get help. Ask for CBT and Habit Reversal Training (which was used with me). Trichotillomania is confidence destroying and makes you feel worthless and stupid, but it’s so common and symptoms can improve!!

Thank you for all the lovely comments! I read all of them but sadly don’t have time to reply to all of them.

x

Responses

  1. That’s great news! I’m so glad that you’ve been able to work on your hair pulling and noticing the triggers. You’ve been an inspiration to us all and I look forward to reading more about your journey to overcome trich. All the best.


Leave a Reply

Categories

