Posted by: glitterseason | March 29, 2008

SLITKR1

SLITKR1. Mean anything? Well apparently this is a gene that was focused on by researchers at The Duke University. They found, in 2006, that many people with trichotillomania had a mutated version of this gene showing that there is perhaps a genetic component to the disorder. The mutated gene is responsible for the ‘wiring of the brain’ which causes people to have the urge to pull out their own hair.

I find this very interesting as I have noticed my own mother pulling at her own eyebrows, which is something I also do. Hers are thinning just like mine and I do wonder if something has been passed on to me.

References:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?db=pubmed&uid=15488960&cmd=showdetailview&indexed=google

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/5381232.stm

____________________

In other news, my hair pulling is getting worse at the moment, frantically yanking out hairs one by one, particularly focusing on pulling a hair with a big follicle. I do it at work and in front of people and I wonder if anyone has noticed, no one has ever said anything to me though. I need to kick this habit, its so frustrating. Frustration is basically a low level of anger which is unproductive for me to live my life to the full.

Responses

  1. That’s really interesting!

    I found your blog when I was searching for trich sites at work yesterday, and I’m really glad I did, so I just wanted to say thanks.

    I’ve had trich for nearly 6 years now, and I’m a former self harmer too.

    My blog is not only about trich, but I have just written quite a big post about it.

    Do you mind if I put a link to you on my blog?

  2. hello! thank you for your lovely comment! It would be wonderful for you to link to my blog, I am flattered!

    *sends hugs…*
    xxx

  3. I pull my hair alot too, even at work. I never know if anyone’s watching me or not. It’s better than when I was cutting, but it’s still bad.

  4. I’ve only just stumbled upon this via fightingtheurge. I have done this for years… my mum does too, but I wonder if it’s nature or nuture as presumably we’ve seen our parents do this and have copied?

  5. it is interesting…I do think it is a mixture of both nature and nurture!
    x


Leave a Reply

Categories

