Posted by: glitterseason | March 23, 2008

Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT)

I have been thinking recently about how I can stop and so ‘recover’. Simply trying to stop on my own is not working and I think I should  try professional help.  When I was seeking help in relation to my depression and self injury, I had 6 sessions of Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT). It really helped me and the proof is that I haven’t self harmed for a total of 9 months! Six sessions was barely enough to cover self harm and depression, let alone any other issues…I never mentioned the hair pulling to her.

__________________________

But what is CBT?

Well CBT aims to change the way you think, feel and behave. The theory is that when you think in a certain way it influences how you feel and then how you behave and that in turns affects how you think. Like  vicious circle.

For example:
Thinking: I am the worst person in the world, I am worthless, useless and I hate myself.
Feeling: I feel depressed so I have to cut myself.
Behaviour: I cut myself
(and then the behaviour triggers the thinking)

The CBT therapist helps you to understand these three areas, break them down and then challenge them, often by an activity, mood chart etc.

For more detailed information go here: http://www.patient.co.uk/showdoc/27000424/

__________________________

Just trying to get the therapy on the NHS is notoriously difficult, you have to be almost dead to be referred. Unless you are willing to go private…at a cost of around £50+ for an hours session.

Leave a Reply

Categories

