Posted by: glitterseason | March 10, 2008

other strange habits

I often wonder what kind of a personality develops trichotillomania. Obviously someone who is anxious is, in my opinion, someone more likely to develop hair pulling tendencies. Maybe throw a little depression in and you have an ideal person? I often wonder if it occurs more in people with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD). I do not have this…a mental health worker I used to see once asked me if I had to pull a certain amount of times, but this doesn’t happen, I simply pull until satisfied.

HOWEVER….I was thinking, what other habits do people have with trichotillomania?

I used to bite my nails when I was 12, but I stopped. Now I can’t stop biting the skin inside my mouth and chewing my lips. I also bite my fingers…the skin around my nails. I have tried to stop both of these, but cannot. I am not really sure why, I am sure that people who bite their nails would understand where I am coming from. From my personal experience, I think that my problems with pulling out hair are very similar to habits like biting your nails.
It is that subconscious action, I do not realise what I am doing until I have done it.

_________

 In other news, I got my hair cut for the first time in a year, and the hairdresser didn’t comment on the amount of new growth on my head! (I normally get comments about it!) Also I was told that my hair is ‘unusually thick’. This makes me happy, thank goodness I am not that 16 year old girl with a bald spot.

Advice:

If you are going to pull and cannot stop, pull from near your ears and back of head and try to alternate to different areas to hopefully avoid bald spots. NEVER EVER pull from your crown, its bad news. Always.

Responses

  1. Hi ya,

    I’ve had Trich since age 8 (I’m 27 soon). I have OCD and depression. Just curious if you have heard of CSP or dermatillomania (ICD)? If not look them up coz they explain what you’re saying about the skin/nails issue. Makes a lot of sense.

  2. hey yes I have heard of those two…they are closely linked to OCD and anxiety just the same as trich…thanks for getting in contact 😀
    x

  3. Interesting. I also bite the insides of my cheeks and lips CONSTANTLY. I’ll even press on the outside of my cheeks to bite on certain areas on the inside. A few times, I have caused sores, but not often. I usually never bite hard enough to cause any damage. I have developed TMJ disorder so bad that I can barely yawn some days. I believe that all the excess chewing and teeth grinding have worsened it. I grind my teeth while sleeping and while awake. I can hardly chew gum for more than a few minutes these days and I am only 21. Man, I bet I sound like a maniac. I have never related it to hair pulling until now.

  4. Eek i’d never heard of dermatillomania untill now but i always have bleeding cheeks and hands from biting D:
    Oh dear, not another problem to add to my list =[

  5. I have a gross one and dont laugh at me i dont pullmy hair i eat my bugers i do it self concosally ihave never told anyone what is that i cant break the habit but i hate doing or thinking about it and i have never told anyone about it

  6. Every time I have a headache I pull a bunch of my hair so hard that you can actually hear it pop up.but after a few minute my head ache gone.Well the hair stay there but what I want is to hear it pop up and I feel better after few minutes.Sound crazy but it’s true.The only concern that I am thinking is the effect of this.Maybe you have answer too for my question,what’s the effect of making my hair pop up.

  7. I heard a phsyciatrist talking about Trich and he said it develops from exreme abuse. I’d have his back on that!!!

  8. i have a wierd habit also..i think its because im usually nervous most of the time for no reason..i fet the tip of my hair and poke my face wit it..u know like its pokey it even gets stuck in my skin sometimes..but i like how it feels..it like relaxes me..idk why my mom said i been doing it sence i was small..and this is so wierd but i sometimes poke my eye..its so wierd..i myself dont know why i do it n i like it..i would like an answer though

    • Dear Sunshine,
      I have the SAME “poking face with hair” habit! I LOVE how it feels. I do it unconsiously all the time; especially while driving or watching TV. I’ve been doing it as long as I can remember (since I was a little girl). I was diagnosed with depression and anxiety when I was 19, but have been doing great on meds ever since (I’m 32 now). My skin gets so red from the poking, but I love the little prick of pain on my eyes, lips, face, etc. I would love to compare notes if you are interested. I’ve never found anyone else who does this.
      Hope to hear from you!

      • I have the same habit and I’ve been googling it for a while and it’s the first time I came across people with the same habit..
        I have a bad habit of poking my hair on my face and also onto my fingers… sometimes I even pull certain strands out to poke myself with…
        I know it’s weird but I’ve been doing it since I was really young, can’t help it.

      • I have this exact same habit! I get a strand of hair or hairs that are really stiff, and poke them on my face. I do it mainly right above my lip in pores. I LOVE the little sting of pain from it. I have never met anyone that does it. When I try to explain it to people, they never understand. I have been doing it since I was a little girl. One summer, when visiting my grandma, she cut my hair really short so I would not be able to do it. As soon as it grew back, I was right back to doing it! I am glad to see that I am not the only one in the word who does this strange habit!

    • I know this was left about 2 years ago but….. YES!!!!! I poke with my hair also! Usually my lips and fingers. I LOVE it when it hurts me or gets stuck in my pours! On my fingers I like to poke it under my finger nails on the very sensative skin. I sometimes do it so much that my hair breaks and looks awful 😦 I have been poking since about 2yo and I’m 29yo now. I’m finding it’s a problem more and more and sometimes I do it with my pets hair too! I have a Dalmatian and I will rub my fingers across her feet where the hair in short and stick the hair under my nails the push really hard until it hurts. And on my cats nose there the hair is short I press it on the sensative back parts of my fingers. They are both so used to it now cus I do it so often :oP thanks for posting this! It’s great to know I’m not alone!

    • Wow! My story is the exact same as all of yours! I have googled this before and never found anything! I really thought I was the only one. I use my hair to poke the skin on my face usually the outside corner of my eye. The pain just feels good in a way I can’t explain. Just like you guys I have been doing this as long as I can remember and my mom told me i used to grab her hair and rub it on my face when I was nursing as a baby?! It seems like it has gotten worse lately the skin around my eye is contstantly red and irritated but I can’t stop. I am usually zoned out when I do this, reading watching TV etc. I am glad I’m not alone.

      • Wow- I can’t believe I actually found others that do this!! I’ve been doing this since I was 4yrs old. The prickly feeling I get from poking myself with my hair is so relaxing. For me, it feels best when the hair is really coarse. I poke myself all over but get the most pleasure from poking my lips. I think it’s because lips are more sensitive due to all of the nerves. I used to do this when I was really anxious, nervous or stressed out but now I do it all the time. I try to control myself but its gotten pretty bad. People catch me doing it at work or in public and look at me like I’m crazy. Wish I knew how/ why I started doing this. Anyone have any ideas about what causes this??

    • so do i and it’s caused by stress!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is it sad that i do it a lot when i’m around my husband?

  9. I have many of the same habits, and I hadn’t linked them to the hair pulling until recently. Ironically I find them harder to control than the hair pulling. I didn’t realise that dermatillomania was a seperate condition though, so many thanks! 🙂

  10. I have the same habit of poking my hair into my face. I notice that I do it when I’m really anxious. I just love the feeling. I’ve also been doing it since I was little. I started by playing with my mom’s hair and I would poke it into my face. I feel less weird knowing others do it. 🙂

    • I’ve been doing this myself!! Nice to know I’m not the only one out there :p I poke my fingers with the tips of my hair…I like the prickling feeling it gives!!!

  11. I have a habit of pulling strands of hair out of my head and making a little nott in the end then I run it through my finger nails my toe nails and this is gross I put it in my nose and pull it out. It just feels good, I like it but I hate it and can’t stop doing it. I feel that I am wierd because of it. But when I was little I can remember pulling my mothers hair with my toes and also like to grab the carpet with my toes. I have also used my dogs hair. Am I wierd or what? I am 56 years old and can’t remember a time I did not do this.

  12. I have habits of biting my nails, pulling out my hair, and bite the skin around my fingers, and eat it. I know, call me cannibal. These are habits I do not know how to stop.

  13. I can’t find anything on my thing it’s using my nails to poke at my fingers and cuticles just enough to feel it start to hurt

  14. I also poke my skin with my hair ..I thought I was the only person who did this ..but now I don’t feel as weird ..I do it all the time especially when im relaxed or stressed ..I poke so hard at times I bleed or leave bumps were I poke


Leave a Reply

Categories

