Posted by: glitterseason | August 21, 2007

Getting Help

Well I thought I should write an entry about my experiences with getting help.

When I was 15 I went to the doctor and told him I was depressed. At this point in my life I was cutting around 5 times a day, every single day, trichotillomania had set in and I was so low, I would tie things round my neck, just to see what it felt like to try and end it all. He said I had a perfect life and that there was nothing wrong. It took me 7 years to visit a doctor again. By this time I had a lot of scars and I really think depression had taken its roots in me.

At university a lot happened, so I started seeing a mental health support worker. For the first time in years I was beginning to trust someone. It took me one and half years almost to talk about the self harm and hair pulling. But discussing it was really difficult but something I really really needed to do!! She helped me to see a doctor about the depression and was diagnosed and put on medication. I haven’t yet told the doctors about the self harm and hair pulling.

I had Cognitive Behavioural Therapy this year (CBT). During which we worked on self harm, but didn’t have the time to work on the hair pulling. In-fact it wasn’t even mentioned!!!!

So today, I got a letter through from my new doctors telling me I have been referred for counselling. There is a six month wait and I only get six sessions. Now I am not being greedy, but I have massive trust issues and by the end of six weeks, Ill only be starting to talk about things. I am frustrated that I can’t quite get the help I need.

I want to feel well. More balanced.

Leave a Reply

Categories

