Posted by: glitterseason | August 13, 2007

a day without pulling: is it possible?

Laying in bed last night, I saw a shooting star. It was bright white, clean, yet glittery. I wished so damn hard on that star.

Today started as usual, getting up at 8am, eating breakfast, drinking tea…watching TV and attempting my essay. (I am currently unemployed and job searching) I decided to wash my hair this morning as wet hair is harder to pull. This did help until it dried. I caught myself a few times with my hands in my hair, stroking my scalp, but managed to so say NO!

I found two hairs I wanted to pull out, one on my stomach and one on the edge of my nipple. But I stopped myself from pulling just for now.

I have Poly-Cystic Ovarian Syndrome, (PCOS) which is well known for making women hairy! But I shall talk about PCOS and its effects in another entry.

This evening something wound me up, a longstanding issue with someone. Before I knew it I had pulled out a hair and was sucking the root. I didn’t know I was doing it, and swore VERY loudly when I realised what I had done.

So really, is it possible to stop this? I still have hope but it’s just so frustrating!

 Horror Stories:

Last night whilst searching various websites, I found one which listed the side-effects of hair pulling. Really scared me to say the least, maybe shock tactics would work!?

Here are some horror stories:

  • A woman once had a hair follicle that embedded in her mouth. She had to have part of her hip removed because the roof of her mouth needed re-building. (Source)
  • If you eat the hair, this is called trichophagia. A 16 year old boy in 1779 had a build up of hair in his stomach called a trichobezoar (Also known as Rapunzel Syndrome) and subsequently died from abdominal obstruction. (Source)
  • In rare cases it can lead to death (Source)
  • Hair can grow back grey or white, finer, coarser or curlier (Source)

Some of my experiences: 

When I had a bald patch, I managed to let it grow back, but at first it was redder, coarser and kind of frizzy. It didn’t match the rest of my hair at all. When I built up confidence to have my hair trimmed, my hairdresser made a big fuss of it. I pulled it out again, but of course it grew back. When I left it to grow this time, people made fun of me. Friends and my mother. I was very touchy about it and went to great lengths to hide it by never wearing my hair down. Even when I came out the shower, I would make sure my parents never saw my hair down. I felt sick if I touched it and would cry when I looked in the mirror. It wasn’t until I was 18 that it had grown out and I could wear my hair down! I can’t explain how much that freedom meant to me! And since then, last year I had my first ever trip to the hairdressers!! (I had a hairdresser that came to my house before) It was amazing to go to the hairdressers, I had a really nice haircut and for the first time I liked my hair.

Tomorrow I will try again.

Responses

  1. Hi

    A friend of mine pulled her hair for 27 years and has been pull free now for over 13 years. So I know it is possible to stop. She has written a couple of books and is in the process of writing one now just for parents. Anyway, her name is Abby Rohrer and she has a web site where she sells her book but she also has free stuff available. Maybe you’ve seen it if you’ve been looking around the internet. If not here is a link to her page that has the free articles and stuff…

    http://www.pullfreeatlast.com/info.php

    Even though I am not a puller, after listening to Abby and reading some of the stories of other people she has helped, and what you have written here, I’m sure she can help you since some of the stories sort of sound similar. Good luck! You’re not alone and don’t give up!

  2. wow thank you for that! it’s most appreciated!! x


Leave a Reply

Categories

